United Tech Guys: After 6 Months

Today, August 8, is the 6-month anniversary of United Tech Guys.  I wrote my first article (about Howcast) on February 8, 2010.  I been blogging online for a very long time, but this is the first time I’ve attempted to write for an audience larger than my immediate family and friends, and I’ve been very happy with the outcome.  I have managed to meet so many new people over the course of the past six months (other bloggers, readers, entrepreneurs, investors, etc.).  

I started United Tech Guys because I realize that there is always a high demand for information in the industry of technology and startups, and that’s what this blog is about.  I also love helping startups get off the ground.  I have personally connected several startups with investors, which is great.  Before a startup business even raises capital, they need press.  Other bloggers and I have become an asset, or a business resource, for these companies.

Writing this blog has evolved from a simple hobby to an obsession.  I am writing an article every chance I get.  Profiling startups and reporting news in the tech industry is now a big part of my life.  People I know now laugh at me because of what has become my catchphrase:  “Hold on, just one more post!”

I thought I would share some of our stats as of this point.

UTG Audience

By this graph, you can see how much we’ve grown.  It looks like August is going to be our biggest month.  You can see that it is pretty close to the total of the past two months, but we are only eight days into the month.  This is definitely progress.

Social Media

As you can see, we are much bigger on Twitter than Facebook, with 162 Twitter followers and 17 Facebook likers.  We’re also on Google Buzz, and we have only 2 followers there.  But what do you expect?  It’s Google Buzz.  Ew.

Popular Posts

These are the ten most popular United Tech Guys posts at this point in time.

  1. New iPhone Found On Bar Floor
  2. How to Allow Guest Chat on Ustream
  3. Grooveshark Goes Down Due To Giant Panda Issues
  4. HTC EVO Battery Update
  5. Chrome OS First Look
  6. How To Use the PS3 EYE Camera as a PC Webcam
  7. WordPress.com Enables “Surprise Me” Feature
  8. Samsung Instinct As USB Modem
  9. Grooveshark: The New Imeem!
  10. Snaptu: The Best Mobile App For Facebook, Twitter, and More!

I’d like to thank everyone who reads this blog, everyone who has contributed to its success thus far, the startups who have contacted me, and of course the authors who really take some of the pressure of this thing off of my shoulders.  Thank you to everyone.  I will keep writing this blog as long as it is still fun (the fun has no end in sight).

4 Responses to United Tech Guys: After 6 Months

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention United Tech Guys: After 6 Months « United Tech Guys -- Topsy.com

  2. M says:

    Keep up the great work Merrill! You’ve come a long way for 6 months. All of you guys are awesome, especially brad. I’ve been subscribed since May, and nothing but quality content comes from you guys.

    • Brad Merrill says:

      thanks for the kind words. it means a lot that our readers are enjoying our content!

  3. Steve says:

    You guys have replaced techcrunch on my feed reader because mg siegler’s fanboyism ruined it for them. 😀

Leave a Reply

