Do you have what it takes? – The Path to programming

Now ever since I was aware of computers I have always been obsessively interested in how they work. The first language I ever became aware of was html, I know not a programming language but an interpreted design language. I next became aware of Visual Basic.NET which is an object oriented programming language and essentially Basic with the .NET framework tacked on and a load of other advanced language features. 

After learning my first commands in VB.NET I fell in love with programming and my knowledge of computers began to balloon and expand extremely fast, literally one week I had no idea that another operating system apart from Windows existed and the next I was triple booting Windows, OSX86 and Linux using multiple partitions. Then I started to learn C++ and Java and experimented with Linux programming. Visual Basic.Net had taught me many programming fundamentals which made learning C++ much easier than it otherwise would have been. While learning C++ I used difference API’s (Application Programming Interfaces) to create windowed applications for different operating systems. The API’s that I used were GTKMM and Win32.  

All of this fitted into the space of two years and I changed from a “Normal Kid” to “Weird Computer Nerd Kid”. Before all of this happened I came into school and talked about my favorite PC Game that I had been playing and now I talked about different Internet Protocols and Operating Systems. So I suppose I did pay a price and thats not to mention the trouble I got in for hacking the school Internet Filters and operating system so I could unblock websites and playing games in class.

Now the key to my success was that I kept constantly trying the things that I didn’t yet understand. An example of this is in VB.Net or C++ if I couldn’t get my specific program to work I would Google the problem I was having and try for hours to fix it. Persistence is key. Luck did play it’s part though, I have stumbled upon many things that further increased my knowledge such as batch scripting, reverse engineering and hacking techniques. The best thing is that there is an incredible amount to learn and I’m learning new techniques every day. Another tip is immerse yourself in technology. That is spend a substantial amount of time reading technology blogs such as this one. Also don’t be afraid of complicated sounding things such as inheritance, polymorphism and multi-threading as the definition is often a lot less complicated than you think.

If you have any questions drop me an email at tom@unitedtechguys.com

About Tom (Tommy)
My name is Tom I'm 22 and currently living in the UK. I'm a software engineer. In my free time I blog, take photographs, watch movies and hang out with friends.

6 Responses to Do you have what it takes? – The Path to programming

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Do you have what it takes? – The Path to programming « United Tech Guys -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Do you have what it takes? – The Path to programming « United Tech … « Web Script Genie

  3. Pingback: Web Script Den » Blog Archive » Do you have what it takes? – The Path to programming « United Tech …

  4. Pingback: Do you have what it takes? – The Path to programming « United Tech … | Web Scripts Maniacs

  5. Anonymous says:

    i’ve been a professional programmer for years. i love it. it’s a fun job where you are actually creating something and overcoming obstacles rather than shuffling papers aimlessly all day.

  6. Pingback: Posts about Programming from google blogs as of August 5, 2010 « tryfly.com

Leave a Reply

