Initial Thoughts On The HTC Evo

I got my hands on what seems to currently be the most loved and most hated smartphone on the market:  the HTC Evo.

The HTC Evo is running on Android 2.1, and it is equipped with a 1GHz Snapdragon processor, an 8 megapixel rear-facing camera/HD camcorder, and a 1.3 megapixel front-facing camera.  I know the question you have in your mind is this:  Do you agree with all the negative points made by MG Siegler in his review?  Yes.  To an extent.  

I think it’s quite obvious that MG’s article was (at least) slightly impacted by his love for the iPhone.  I think his points were valid but exaggerated.  Or maybe the Evo just really sucks after using an iPhone (I wouldn’t know).

Screen

Let’s start with the massive 4.3″ screen.  There’s no denying its beauty.  Rather than an OLED screen, it utilizes a standard TFT display, so it’s easy to see regardless of lighting.  The 480×800 resolution and the crispness of everything will blow you away.

With that said, bigger is not always better.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the size of the screen.  The problem here it that the device itself is too big.  It’s difficult to handle unless you have huge hands.  But I think I’m willing to endure that for this gorgeous screen.

Cameras

Both of the cameras are great.  The 8 megapixel rear-facing one definitely beats the iPhone 4.  The 1.3 megapixel front-facing one is perfect for vanity photos and video chatting.

Battery

Ah, the most controversial aspect of the Evo.  I don’t think the battery is as bad as some people may tell you.  However, it’s not as good as others say, either.  At 7:30, I unplugged my Evo, and the battery was 100% charged.  Here I am at midnight, and it’s about to die.  Keep in mind that was my first charge ever, so we can’t expect this to be an accurate representation of an average day.  Even if this was an accurate test, I wouldn’t call it a “deal breaker.”

Software

The HTC Evo is running on the glitchy Android 2.1 operating system, and it will stay that way until HTC and Sprint decide to let us upgrade.  Things have been a little laggy for me so far, but the good news is that Android 2.2 should fix this, whenever they decide to release the update.

Also noteworthy:  I spoke to the manager of the Best Buy where I purchased my Evo, and he said that Sprint is going to be releasing patches in the near future that will extend battery life.  Let’s hope.

Overall (although it may not sound like it), I am pretty satisfied with this device.  It has some drawbacks, but what device doesn’t?

I think some of the poor reviews out there are largely exaggerated.

One Response to Initial Thoughts On The HTC Evo

  1. Pingback: The HTC Evo Is Seriously Flawed, Needs To Be Fixed Before You Buy « United Tech Guys

Leave a Reply

