HTC EVO First Impressions

I pre-ordered the HTC EVO at Best Buy last week. Unfortunately I was too late to get my EVO on launch day and was going to have to wait until June 9th to get my hands on it. So today I decided I would go to my local Sprint store to play around with a display model just to see how unlucky I was to have to wait four more days to get my own. So when I walked in the store and told them I would like to see the EVO, I was totally shocked when they said they still had one left in the stockroom! Woo Hoo… it’s my lucky day! So I have had my EVO now for about 6 hours and wanted to give everyone my first impressions of the phone.  

First off, this screen is Big and Beautiful. My previous phone was the HTC Hero, so the size of this thing just blows me away. I do have big hands though so I was very comfortable with the way the EVO fit in my hands. The next thing that I noticed was how responsive and fluid this thing is… everything is instantaneous. It just felt so smooth flipping through the seven screens included with the HTC Sense UI.

At this time, I do not get 4G coverage in my area so I cannot speak of the speed differences from 3G to 4G. We are supposed to have 4G by the end of 2010 though so I am very excited about that.

Another thing that I found very impressive with the EVO was the YouTube experience. Even if you don’t have 4G in your area yet, you can turn on the WiFi and watch your favorite YouTube videos in HQ. I am here to tell you they look FANTASTIC on this screen! I could waste quite a few hours just watching videos on this thing.

If you have never had a HTC android phone, you are in for a treat with the HTC Sense UI. I absolutely love it. The HTC widgets are great. My favorites being the clock and weather widget and the HTC mail widget. The problem with this UI is that it is resource intensive… but with the EVO’s 1GHZ Snapdragon processor it’s really not an issue anymore. Everything seems to be running better than ever.

The phone also comes pre-loaded with Sprint exclusive apps such as Sprint Navigation, Sprint Football, NASCAR Sprint Cup and Sprint TV.

I have also installed the Google Earth app and was very impressed.  Very quick and fluid again. The street view is fantastic. I may do a more detailed review of some Android apps later… if I do, this will definitely be one of the first  that I do.

Lastly, I love the Friendstream App. Basically it syncs all your Facebook, Twitter, and Flickr status updates into one place. Very nice to look at and a quick way to update your own status. This is another one that I may do a more detailed review on at a later date.

So as you can see, I am very impressed with this phone so far… haven’t checked out the cameras much yet so I won’t go into that in this article. But there is one thing that has been a nuisance to me already and that is the power button. The power button is at the top right of the phone. There are two problems with it in my opinion. One: it is sometimes hard to find the button. It’s not all the way over in the right corner, it’s closer to the middle than the right side. I don’t like it there. Two: The button is almost flush to the phone so sometimes it just seems difficult to press even after I find the correct spot. I don’t know… maybe it’s just me? But anyway…. I would definitely recommend this phone to everyone. Like I said, I have only had it for a few hours but I am absolutely loving it!

UPDATE: I now understand why HTC did not place the power button all the way over to the right corner. I realized it today as I was texting in landscape mode. While texting my index finger lays across the top right corner, while the power button rests just below my index finger. Had the power button been placed in the right corner I would constantly be turning the phone off accidentally while texting! So I guess HTC did know what they were doing on the button placement!

6 Responses to HTC EVO First Impressions

  1. Brad Merrill says:

    I can’t wait to get mine.

  2. Thanks for your personal impressions Scott. Great review.
    Look forward to your reviews on the Friendstream App. and the Cameras.

  3. Mark says:

    i’m pre ordered at best buy for like the 4th shipment. i can’t wait.
    nice review.

  4. Pingback: HTC Evo: The Best Damn Phone I’ve Ever Used. « United Tech Guys

  5. jon says:

    great review. i don’t know if i want this or iphone4.

    • Brad Merrill says:

      If you’re unsure, take a look at this article.

Leave a Reply

