WordPress.com Enables “Surprise Me” Feature

Matt from WordPress earlier today unveiled the “Surprise Me” option for WordPress.com blogs.  He refused to reveal what it did.  He said, “If you’re open to new things and serendipitity in your blogging life try leaving it on as you go about your normal blogging activities of posting, commenting, checking your stats, and such, and see what pops up.”  I’m giving it a try.  To turn it on, go to your Personal Settings and check the box.

Since Matt didn’t tell anyone what the effect was, I still don’t know either, but I did notice that when you go to add a new post, the Publish box (pictured, left) is slightly different.  As you can see, the “Publish” button has a larger font than normal.  Also, there is a check box that reads, “This post is super-awesome.”

I have a feeling I’ll know what the feature does as soon as I publish this, so I’ll be sure to post an update.

Matt said, “posting, commenting, checking your stats, and such,” so there’s probably some significance to those three examples.

I guess I’ll see what happens and then give you guys an update.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

20 Responses to WordPress.com Enables “Surprise Me” Feature

  1. Brad Merrill says:

    UPDATE: After clicking publish, a flash video popped up. I can’t quote or embed it, but basically it was a guy from the New York Times congratulating me for publishing.

  2. Brad Merrill says:

    UPDATE: I checked my stats and there is now a “Humanize” tab above the page view graph. It tells you some random facts about the number of page views you had that day.

  3. Brad Merrill says:

    UPDATE: No evident “surprise” when I’m posting these comments. Maybe it’s because this is my post. Maybe I’ll comment on one of Devon’s posts…

    • Brad Merrill says:

      I gave that a try. That wasn’t it.

  4. I saw the button to turn this one but I didn’t know what it was and was in a little hurry so I didn’t push it. It still kind of scares me though…I may try it though, we’ll see.

  5. timethief says:

    Hi there. I have no intention of clicking this “surprise” button.

    I am super annoyed because for 2 days now the page loading time from my root blog at wordpress.com to my domain which I am paying wordpress.com to domain map to has been excruciatingly slow.

    At this point in time the only “surprise” I will welcome is for whatever resource hogging program(s) wordpress.com Staff are running in the background to stop, so the quick page loading time we used to experience is restored.

    • Brad Merrill says:

      I’ve noticed our page loading time here has increased a bit recently too.

  6. timethief says:

    OOPS! Did you notice that this “feature” is that we can click to Publicize to Twitter and Facebook? A lot of members will be delighted with this addition.

    • Brad Merrill says:

      They’ve had the Publicize feature for quite a while now…I’ve been using it since this site was started.

  7. Brad Merrill says:

    UPDATE: I’ve come to the conclusion that whenever you mark a post as “Super Awesome,” you get a video of encouragement when you click Publish.

    • Just Me says:

      Yeah I’ve tried that but I didn’t get anything…..I have a feeling using Firefox with AdBlock Plus may be preventing it for me. If not, my surprise is just that I don’t get that surprise when I publish posts, ha.

      • Brad Merrill says:

        I don’t think that’s it because it shows up as a frame within the window, it doesn’t open a new window. Did you check the box next to “This post is super awesome” when you published?

      • Tried google chrome… nope nothing happened!

  8. Just Me says:

    Yeah I clicked “This post is super-awesome” when I published but still didn’t get anything. I actually tried updating an older post to be super-awesome in Firefox as well as Chrome but didn’t get anything for that either. Although I’m not sure if it is supposed to do it for updates or just when you publish new posts. I will have to try with another browser when I publish my next post.

    • Brad Merrill says:

      Hm. Not sure. Like you said, a different browser might fix it.

  9. Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for more info on this just sa few days ago.

  10. Pingback: April 26, 2010 « Gentle Wit

  11. nirotex says:

    cool i’ll have to check this out.

  12. Brad Merrill says:

    UPDATE: It seems that now, even when I mark a post as “super-awesome,” nothing happens. It played those videos for the first three days or so, but now I’m getting nothing.

  13. Web Tasarım says:

    Health in your hands was a beautiful blog. Shares a wonderful.

Leave a Reply

