How To Use the PS3 EYE Camera as a PC Webcam

When I’m streaming on Ustream, you might be surprised to hear what camera I’m using.  It’s not a PC webcam.  It’s actually the PS3 Eye.  The PS3 Eye is a camera made for the PS3 so you can do video chat and stuff.  It’s really a great camera with seemingly unattainable potential.  What do I mean by this?  Well, if you plug it into your computer, you get nothing.  Why?  Because the manufacturer didn’t make driver software for PCs.

However, there are always homebrew drivers, right?

Right!

Well I ran into a website called Code Laboratories that had made a driver for the PS3 eye.  Needless to say, I installed it, and now I’m using the best webcam I’ve ever used!  Note:  Unfortunately, it is not available for Macs.

It’s very easy to install and they have a support forum on their site.

Links:

Go to download page.

Visit forum for support.

2 Responses to How To Use the PS3 EYE Camera as a PC Webcam

  1. butali says:

    Thanks I never knew it could run on pc

    • Brad Merrill says:

      Yep, and it’s pretty good quality too.

Leave a Reply

